top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAzayla Rodriguez

Brenau University: Student Exhibition

The High Museum of Art in Atlanta has a special exhibition showcasing the work of students at Brenau University.

The Student Exhibition opened Jan. 7 and it will come to an end Feb. 9. However, there is a closing reception for the students on Sat. Feb. 8. from 2 to 4 p.m. The closing reception will be held through the Greene Family Education Center at The High Museum.

Family and friends of the students are able to attend the exhibition and the closing reception free of charge. Students must send an email to Allison Lauricella, Brenau’s Assistant Gallery Director, with the names of the additional guests that will be attending the event.

The work being showcased is from students who are all a part of Brenau’s Art Department. Some work featured in the exhibition is digital posters or printings, sculptors, paintings, photography, pieces of clothing, drawings, etc. Students involved come from all different areas of the art department such as fashion design, graphic design, interior design, or even undeclared students.

Cassidi Jones, a sophomore Fashion Design Major said, “I entered four pieces but only three were selected and they were a mask, a drawing, and a pink kimono. My favorite entry was my turtle drawing because I worked really hard on it and it was extremely detailed. But, I was surprised my mask was chosen.”

Students were given a due date to submit their entries for the exhibition and the art department faculty chose the best work. Huy Chu, an Assistant Professor of Art and Design at Brenau said, “There was so much great work entered this year it really was hard to narrow down the choices. Since the space for the exhibition is two side hallways and one long hallway, it is limited and we had some large works this year. But, I am honored and proud that I was able to teach and work with many of these students.”

On the other hand, students have been saving their works to build their portfolio and for opportunities that are offered such as the student exhibition. Some of the work that was entered was work from Spring 2019 or Fall 2019. However, if the work has already been entered before and did not make it the students can not re-enter them for another exhibition. But, there are students whose work makes it every year.

Kendy Manzano said, “My work has been featured all four years I’ve been here at Brenau. But, my all time favorite piece was my clothing collection I entered last year which was a skiing waterproof full outfit that included inspiration from my culture.”

This opportunity allows for students at Brenau to build their portfolio, build their resume, bring them more exposure, and to get their foot into the door of the art world. Students are grateful and filled with amazement that their work will be featured in such a notable museum.

Jones said, “It’s kind of like a dream to be able to say I have work at the High. Rather than me going to see someone else’s work people are coming to see mine.”



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page